7/7/7 Day Two: Michael Hedges, ‘Aerial Boundaries’.

(Note:  this post is part of a series.)

Day 2. I am posting seven personally meaningful songs over seven days*. I can’t quite bring myself to “challenge” someone else to do the same over each of those seven days, so it won’t be a true “7/7/7” for any purists out there, but I may well tag someone here and there, and if anyone wants to pick up that torch and run with it, I will follow with interest. (I admit, I do love mental exercises.)

Day 2: Michael Hedges, “Aerial Boundaries”
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P9mmZyGb4s
http://craftygrass.blogspot.com/2010/12/things-that-change-your-life-8.html

Chase the Blogspot link above for a fuller story, but suffice it to say that self-described “violent acoustic” artist Michael Hedges is ultimately responsible for my interest in fingerstyle playing in general, and in a great many out-of-the-box musical ideas in particular. Unlike Coltrane, I did get to see Hedges before he was taken from us, and I can still recall the experience in vivid mental color.

His influence, along with a very few others like Preston Reed and Phil Keaggy, has spawned an entire genre of its own–and one that is notably brimming with creative ideas.

I became a player, not just a listener, within the context of Guitar Craft (which will make an appearance within the next few days), but when I listen to myself now, it is impossible not to hear the influence of both Hedges and the musical universe he helped inspire.

Published by

Kevin Wilmeth

Professional geek. Amateur human. Credible threat to musical instruments anywhere. (I can't help it. Ideas just invade my brain...)

Leave a Reply

